Life In Sekinchan

20-11-2011 is a very special date and also the day that I joined a photo outing organized by Persatuan Senifoto Petaling Jaya ( PSPJ ) to Sekinchan paddy field and fisherman’s village. Sekinchan is a small town located in the state of Selangor, Malaysia and it is one of the major rice producing areas of Malaysia. My first visit to Sekinchan was in 2010 with my wife and friends who lived there but I didn’t take many photos previously because I lacked knowledge in photography and composition. Now, I’m back to Sekinchan for the second time to put myself to the test to see if I have improved with my photography skills, composition, and I hope to capture the beauty of Sekinchan and the life there. Thank you for taking your time to read and viewing the photos, feel free to comment on any of the photos and let me know what you think about it. Cheers.

Ixoybrychus cinnamomeus hiding in the paddy field

Abandoned nest in an old dried tree

Raindrops on a paddy leaf

Don't Fear The Scarecrow

Fisherman taking a break

Rice Paddy Worker

A Worker delivering ice to The Fisherman's Village. The SKC letters on the box stands for Se Kin Chan.

Rinsing off the fish scales on the floor.

Dragon Shaped Cloud

A worker repairing fishing nets.

The trademark of Sekinchan.

An old woman lighting up an oil lamp in the Nine Emperor Gods Temple.

Freshly-Plucked Lady Fingers

Kau Cim paper/notes.

Standing Still

The Sekinchan Fisherman's Village

Workers separating fishes.

Oils

Fisherman loading up a big pail of squids

Greeting from Sekinchan

Harvesting Lady Fingers

Old and Dirty Oil Tins

5 thoughts on “Life In Sekinchan

  1. I think you have done a magnificent job with this. I haven’t seen this side of Malaysia and your photos showed me alot. May I ask, what are the boxes with notes/paper in them? Great work!

    • Hi Marina,

      The notes/paper appear to be part of Kau Cim practice. Kau Cim is a Chinese fortune telling practice performed in a Taoist or Buddhist in front of an alter to request answers by shaking a cup/cylinder filled with 100 bamboo sticks, which is usually tipped slightly downward, results in at least one stick leaving the cylinder and being dropped onto the floor. Each stick, each with a designated number, represents their answer. Answers can be consulted by a temple priest or can be interpreted by strips of paper that you see in the photo with answers in correspondence to their number on the stick that read their fortune. Thank you for your compliment and taking your time to view my post.

      Cheers,
      Luke

Leave a Reply

